I was looking on eBay and this guy had this tricked out S with a supercharger, nitrous and a custom paint job. It was pretty sweet and he only wanted $6000 for it. I emailed him and asked "why so cheap?" Here was his response:
"Hello,
I am glad to hear that you are interested to buy my 2002 Honda S2000 .
The car is a US model in perfect conditions ,no flaws or dents, no scratches or any kind of damage,no engine problems.The interior is in like new condition and has never been smoked in.Always garaged.Clear title,no liens or leasing.
I recently moved to Portugal due to work and family.And the car is here with me. It was bought in the US and shipped to Europe, but it was never permanently registered here, the car is still registered in the US.The car is for sale locally as well, but there are slim chances of this to happen.In order to be able to register this car here in Portugal the buyer would have to pay very high import/custom taxes that will duble the price. So I decided to sell the car back in the US. As I'm unable to travel in the near future and I don't have anyone back home to help me with the sale this transaction would have to be done through eBay.
The amount you will have to pay in order to own this vehicle is $6,000 and you will also have to cover the shipping costs! I want to take this opportunity to assure you that this deal is 100% legitimate,the financial part of this deal will be manage by eBay,in this way both of us will be protected.They will keep the payment until you receive the item and test it.
So if you decide to buy this car or need further information please get back to me as soon as possible.
Thank you and have a great day,
Stan Kegel
teriuy87@msn.com"
I saw a very nice 2001 M3 convertible for 19k once and asked him the same thing and got a similar response "in Italy, blah, blah, blah". Then I got another email saying don't do business with this guy, its a scam.
So, like David Horowitz says: "If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is."
Watch your arse if you bid on a car on eBay. I know most are legit but some people are scum. It would have been a nice car for 6k but I don't think the guy was on the up & up. I wish I would have downloaded the link before the sale was over.
Jimbo