Honda S2000 | S2000 Forums | S2000 Pictures

Go Back   S2000 Forums > Technical > All Other Honda S2000 Related Discussions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

All Other Honda S2000 Related Discussions Share your knowledge, experience and info about Honda S2000

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2005, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
wowowox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 313
Help is this some kind of scam???

I found this 03 or 04 supra twin-turbo for sell, it has all the mods etc look like new and no accidents , it says it has all the papers you need to purchase this car. also it also has a new motor in it for 4000km. The selling price is $8600. Obviously this seems to be a good deal, so I e-mail this guy and here is his reply. Please tell me what you think about this. scam? joke? etc....

thx~

The reply from the seller:

Hi ,

First of all, thank you for email me. Like you already have seen in the pictures, my car doesn't have any damage, it is in very good condition and it comes with clear title, keys and all the papers that you'll need for registration. My car is registered in Canada and it has Canadian standards and the price of the car is $8,600, but due to the fact that I'm in Dublin, Ireland right now, I have the car here with me. If you are a serious buyer and you want to buy my car, I can ship the car to you and I will handle the shipping and insurance charges. In order to increase security, because this is my first concern, I want to use a financial mediator, as a third part in this transaction. I hope you understand that, this way, the transaction is more secure for both of us. Please reply and if you have more question feel free to ask. Keep me posted. E-mail me back if you are interested and I'll provide you with more information about purchasing it. Keep me posted.
wowowox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
botches
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Don't do it!

Let me guess, he wants to use Western Union or something like that. What he's not telling you is that the "financial mediator" is actually his friend, or his real name. I found myself wanting to belive a similar deal was true. The VIN even checked out. When I received pictures of an "all stock" '03 S2000 with a plastic rear window I turned him in. I received word back that it was indeed a scam. Bottom line, don't do it!
botches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Halo
Senior Member
 
Halo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 610
Definitely a scam. This has been done many times before.

C'mon how many people from Canada are going to take a TT Supra to Dublin then decide to sell it while there.

However, if you want to have some fun and aren't busy, make a new email address and contact him again, appear interested and see how far you can take him without you forking over any money. Maybe you can try to outscam him if you're quick!

There was a great story on the net a while back, I can't seem to find it any more, called "P-P-P-Powermac" of some guy who had a lot of fun with a scam artist in London trying to get a free Mac laptop. By the end of it, they had people on London doing surveillance on the Internet cafe where the guy was emailing from. Brilliant!

Here is the p-p-p-powerbook story. Scamming the scammer:
http://www.p-p-p-powerbook.com/
Halo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 10:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
wowowox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 313
for those of you who is interested here is another reply from this person!

the reply:

Hi,

My brother is working for a shipping company and it will cost me around 1,200 USD. Also the car is already registered in Canada and that's the major reason for that I'm selling it. To get started with our deal, we will use an escrow-type shipping company which also manages the payment. Here's how it works: I will take the car at the shipping company, they will e-mail you the transport information and tracking # so you can see that the vehicle is shipped. After you receive this info, you will have to make a deposit to one of their agents so I can be sure that you are serious about buying and I am not shipping the car for nothing. The agent will keep the money in a trust fund until you receive the car and are sattisfied with it. You will have 7 days to inspect and test drive it upon arrival with no obligation to buy. Should the car not be exactly as described, you can send it back at my expense, and get a full refund of your deposit. If everything checks out and you decide to keep it, you will pay the rest directly to me. If you wish to go on, please mail me back with your full name and shipping address so I can open the deal. I'm looking forward to hear from you. Keep me posted.
Thank You !
Rob
wowowox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Java Junky
Resident Curmudgeon
 
Java Junky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Joisey
Posts: 5,482
Java Junky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 12:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
wowowox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 313
thank you guys, thx for u r patience and energy to reply, after reading all your posts I know this is a scam, will it always didn't sound right to me. So, thank you again and hope everyone will be happy with their s2k ...

Drive safe~
wowowox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 08:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
RCduck7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Hi,

Have a question about buying expensive things like cars on the net.
How can you be sure or make sure when buying on the net it is not a scam?
Even if you buy something and get it to your door and see it is not like it was on the picture or description is there something you can do about it?
RCduck7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 10:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
wowowox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 313
Rc , i also want to ask the same question, llike the one u said, don't ppl feel insecure when they purchase online. I was surprised that people actually buy stuff online such as ebay and yahoo auctions !!

Can somebody post their experiece, and share their thoughts with us?

thx
wowowox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 10:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
s2kam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 17
the only good car bought online was an 03 rsx type s with a K20a swap for only 14 grand.
s2kam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What kind of wheels are these? Kalm_Traveler Wheels / Tires / Suspension 3 06-03-2007 08:14 AM
What kind of stick shift is the 2004 S2k? lkpeter All Other Honda S2000 Related Discussions 3 09-20-2004 09:18 PM
what is the best kind of oil to use in my 2000 s2000? Draven All Other Honda S2000 Related Discussions 2 07-09-2004 02:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28