Honda S2000 | S2000 Forums | S2000 Pictures | S2000 Links | Sitemap | S2000 History | Tuning | Resources |

Go Back   S2000 Forums > Honda S2000 Classifieds > Honda S2000 For Sale
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2007, 10:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Dr. Jimbo
Don't taze me bro!
 
Dr. Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Barbara, Ca.
Posts: 831
Custom S on eBay

I was looking on eBay and this guy had this tricked out S with a supercharger, nitrous and a custom paint job. It was pretty sweet and he only wanted $6000 for it. I emailed him and asked "why so cheap?" Here was his response:

"Hello,

I am glad to hear that you are interested to buy my 2002 Honda S2000 .

The car is a US model in perfect conditions ,no flaws or dents, no scratches or any kind of damage,no engine problems.The interior is in like new condition and has never been smoked in.Always garaged.Clear title,no liens or leasing.

I recently moved to Portugal due to work and family.And the car is here with me. It was bought in the US and shipped to Europe, but it was never permanently registered here, the car is still registered in the US.The car is for sale locally as well, but there are slim chances of this to happen.In order to be able to register this car here in Portugal the buyer would have to pay very high import/custom taxes that will duble the price. So I decided to sell the car back in the US. As I'm unable to travel in the near future and I don't have anyone back home to help me with the sale this transaction would have to be done through eBay.

The amount you will have to pay in order to own this vehicle is $6,000 and you will also have to cover the shipping costs! I want to take this opportunity to assure you that this deal is 100% legitimate,the financial part of this deal will be manage by eBay,in this way both of us will be protected.They will keep the payment until you receive the item and test it.

So if you decide to buy this car or need further information please get back to me as soon as possible.

Thank you and have a great day,
Stan Kegel
teriuy87@msn.com"

I saw a very nice 2001 M3 convertible for 19k once and asked him the same thing and got a similar response "in Italy, blah, blah, blah". Then I got another email saying don't do business with this guy, its a scam.
So, like David Horowitz says: "If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is."
Watch your arse if you bid on a car on eBay. I know most are legit but some people are scum. It would have been a nice car for 6k but I don't think the guy was on the up & up. I wish I would have downloaded the link before the sale was over.
Jimbo
Dr. Jimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-17-2007, 10:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
SXY_S2K
Trqless
 
SXY_S2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 746
Send a message via AIM to SXY_S2K Send a message via MSN to SXY_S2K
SCAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAM
SXY_S2K is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
gomarlins3
"Enjoy the drive"
 
gomarlins3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kuna Idaho
Posts: 2,220
^Agreed.
__________________
Happiness is a nice road, great weather, and driving the S with Sue in the seat next to me.

"Whatever you do, where ever you go, enjoy the drive."

I know for a FACT that the last year of production of the S2000 is 2003!!!!!
After that, it will be the S2200 under an assumed name.
gomarlins3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 02:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
s2000isu
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pa
Posts: 981
Send a message via AIM to s2000isu
I looked into a supra same exact line such a scam
__________________
S2kx2: "paint it pink! Or better yet buy a Miata"

2001 Vortech SC
12.8 at 111 miles per hour
s2000isu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Java Junky
Resident Curmudgeon
 
Java Junky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Joisey
Posts: 4,909
And the audience says . . . . SNOW JOB!
Not somethin' that I'm 100% sure of, but I'm hearin' that a considerable amount'a flim-flam's been happenin' on ebay. Not surprisin'ly, they ain't anxious to publicize the fact.
Anything that involves money only lasts so long before the shysters get involved. When the odds'a gettin' caught r' so slim . . . is it really any surprise?
Be well.
Java
__________________
In life-long pursuit of that most mythic of beasts: the ever-elusive perfect corner. Well . . . that, r' at least a whole lodda clear spin-out room.
Java Junky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 12:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
mgm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ct.
Posts: 28
I looked into a RSX Type-S for sale in Virgina on ebay for cheap. Luckily before sending him money I realized that it was a scam. Like someone said if it sounds to good to be true it usually is.
__________________
'02 S - Sebring Silver/Black purchased 05/07 w/14k miles. OEM front and side spoilers. JDM side marker lights. Mobil 1.
mgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 09:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
AP1Day
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 58
i saw the same thing happen on a sick ass evo, it was craaaaazy loaded and he only wanted $4500 i emailed him and he said the exact same stuff about moving to like spain or something, saw also another one for a rx7. some people out there are just messed up playing with our minds man.
AP1Day is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28